Kansas lawmakers in U.S. House split vote on farm bill




Special to The Telegram

Republicans Tim Huelskamp, R-Hutchinson, and Mike Pompeo, R-Wichita, voted no on the House's version of the farm bill, splitting the vote with Kevin Yoder, R-Overland Park, and Lynn Jenkins, R-Holton, who both voted yes.

The Federal Agriculture and Reform and Risk Management Act failed 234-195 Thursday.

Pompeo said in a statement that he was concerned with the "out-of-control food stamp program that swallows up 80 percent of this trillion-dollar bill before we even get to agriculture policy."

He also was concerned about the energy title, saying it provided millions to industries he called politically favored like "green energy" and a "Soviet-style milk program that raises the cost of dairy staples for every Kansas consumer."

Huelskamp, Kansas' Big First representative who was ousted from the House Agriculture Committee last winter, also said he was against the amount dedicated to food stamp spending and couldn't vote for something that only authorized a reform of $20 billion, which he stated was only 15 percent of the reduction House Republican leadership had promised.

"I could not vote for a bill that locks in the massive expansion of the food stamp program and spends nearly 80 cents of every dollar on food stamps," he said. "Food stamp spending has nearly tripled since 2002."

Huelskamp also said more people voted for his amendment to reform food stamps than voted in favor of the farm bill. He was the lead sponsor of an amendment that would have created additional work requirements for food assistance recipients.

"There's a clear path to Farm Bill passage — we must target food stamps to those who need it and transform the program through work requirements," he said. "Put another way, I am confident there's a bill that at least 218 House Republicans can and will support. I encourage the House GOP leadership to take advantage of the best opportunity in a generation to reform the biggest means-tested welfare program we have."

According to The Associated Press, voting yes were 24 Democrats and 171 Republicans.

Voting no were 172 Democrats and 62 Republicans.

Last week, Kansas's two Republican senators were also split on the Senate's version of the farm bill. Pat Roberts voted no, calling the measure a return to the past. Jerry Moran voted yes, saying that while the legislation wasn't perfect, it did meet two benchmarks most important to Kansas farmers and ranchers — expansions of the crop insurance and livestock disaster program.

The half-trillion-dollar Senate bill passed 66-27.

comments powered by Disqus
I commented on a story, but my comments aren't showing up. Why?
We provide a community forum for readers to exchange ideas and opinions on the news of the day.
Passionate views, pointed criticism and critical thinking are welcome. We expect civil dialogue.
Name-calling, crude language and personal abuse are not welcome.
Moderators will monitor comments with an eye toward maintaining a high level of civility in this forum.

If you don't see your comment, perhaps you ...
... called someone an idiot, a racist, a moron, etc. Name-calling or profanity (to include veiled profanity) will not be tolerated.
... rambled, failed to stay on topic or exhibited troll-like behavior intended to hijack the discussion at hand.
... included an e-mail address or phone number, pretended to be someone you aren't or offered a comment that makes no sense.
... accused someone of a crime or assigned guilt or punishment to someone suspected of a crime.
... made a comment in really poor taste.